Incorporating Patient Handling Ergonomics into the Design of Healthcare Facilities: Patient and Caregiver Benefits

Tuesday, October 20, 2015, 1:00 p.m. EDT, 12:00 p.m. CDT

Over the years, caregivers have been injured at similar or higher rates than construction workers and other jobs we consider very high risk. If caregivers are working injured or medicated due to injuries (and they do), how safe is that patient care environment?  More and more evidence relates the decrease in negative patient outcomes (falls, skin breakdown, and others) when patient care ergonomic technology is incorporated into healthcare environments.

Implementing Biophilic Design: Enhancing the Patient and Staff Experience

Thursday, April 30, 2015, 3:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT

Healthcare design professionals have long understood the value of healing gardens and views to the outdoors as a means of connecting building occupants to nature. While gardens and views are important design opportunities, these are only two of many strategies that support biophilia – our innate affinity for the living world. Projects can leverage a wide range of other approaches to tap into this aspect of our subconscious, increasing potential benefits to health and wellbeing.

Manual, Motorized, and Automated Roller Shades: Key Contributions to a Healing Environment

Wednesday, February 4, 2015, 1:00 p.m. EST, 12:00 p.m. CST

The impact of daylight on healthcare environments and the healing process should not be underestimated. When choosing a window management system, there are many variables and design concepts that must be considered to achieve the maximum benefits of natural light.

Achieving Efficiency in Healthcare Workflow: Challenges & Opportunities

Thursday, November 20, 2014, 11:00 a.m. EST, 10:00 a.m. CST

Efficient clinical workflow is becoming a top priority in healthcare facilities. With the growing complexity of quality issues in today's healthcare environment, it’s time to take a deeper look into what is causing them and how they can be solved, beginning with building a better understanding of clinical workflow itself.

Antimicrobial Copper: New Evidence and Lessons from an Early Adopter

Thursday, November 6, 2014, 1:00 p.m. EST, 12:00 p.m. CST

The hospital built environment is a significant contributor to the acquisition of healthcare associated infections (HAIs).  Hand washing, cleaning, and disinfecting surfaces within the built environment are critical to mitigating transmission of microbes. However, these solutions rely on human behavior and expensive equipment, and offer no protection in between uses. The use of continuously active antimicrobial copper surfaces is a cost-effective solution that can significantly reduce the acquisition of HAIs without increasing staff responsibilities or operating costs.