To paraphrase the great Nigel Tufnel of Spinal Tap: This one goes to 11.

The third annual HCD 10, as always, honors a group of individuals and organizations that made a significant mark on the healthcare design landscape over the past year. We have 10 categories, covering a range of professions, as a way to focus attention on the value and necessity of different perspectives coming together when it’s time to turn a healthcare vision into a building, or a room, or a campus.

But sometimes, even we can’t fully tease apart the contributions of individuals to the bigger project. We found ourselves in that spot this year when selecting the winner in the Provider category, for which the drive and efforts of a health system’s leader and its new hospital’s CEO were inextricably linked. So we gave it to both of them—not something we plan to make a habit of, but it does speak to the very point we’re trying to make with The HCD 10 in the first place. It takes a village, you know, and it’s difficult to give proper credit to each of the villagers. But that doesn’t mean it’s not worth trying.

Congratulations to all of our winners. Individual profiles will be published daily beginning Feb. 2; click on the names below to learn more about each winner's extraordinary work. And we hope you’ll join us at the next Healthcare Design Conference, November 2015 in Washington, D.C., where we’ll honor them in person from the main stage.

  • Architect: Paul Strohm, senior vice president and director of healthcare, HOK (St. Louis)
  • Researcher: Upali Nanda, vice president and director of research, HKS (Houston); executive director of the Center for Advanced Design Research and Education (CADRE)
  • Interior designer: Christine Hester Devens, associate principal and interior project designer, AECOM (Minneapolis)
  • Association/foundation executive: Jennie Evans, 2013-2014 president, Nursing Institute of Healthcare Design (NIHD)
  • Facility manager: Sean Gouvin, director of facilities planning and engineering operations, Baystate Health (Springfield, Mass.)
  • Educator: George Mann, Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design, College of Architecture, Texas A&M University (College Station, Texas)
  • Provider: Matthew Gutwein, president and CEO, Health & Hospital Corp. of Marion County, and Dr. Lisa E. Harris, CEO, Eskenazi Health (Indianapolis)
  • Building professional: Sam Moses, superintendent, Balfour Beatty Construction (Dallas)
  • Rising star: David Grandy, associate vice president and managing director of strategic innovation, HDR (Omaha, Neb.)
  • Organization of the year: ZGF Architects LLP