Industry professionals who produced some of the most impressive and memorable work of the past year were invited on stage to accept awards at a special luncheon held Sunday, November 17, at the Healthcare Design Conference in Orlando.

With images of their accomplishments projected on a massive screen behind the podium, winners from Healthcare Design’s Architectural and Interior Design Showcase, Remodel/Renovation Competition, and The HCD 10 competitions were honored in front of hundreds of their peers.

Here’s a look at the winners list, with links to our coverage of their achievements:


Citations of Merit:

Honorable Mentions:

  • Benjamin Russell Hospital for Children, Birmingham, Ala.; HKS Inc.
  • Presbyterian Rust Medical Center, Rio Rancho, N.M.; Dekker/Perich/Sabatini
  • Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle, Wash.; ZGF Architects LLC


  • Family Spaces, Best in Category: Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta/Nadia’s Room; Stanley Beaman & Sears Architecture
  • Nurses’ Stations, Best in Category: Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters; PF&A Design


  • Architect: Joan Saba, partner, NBBJ (New York)
  • Association/foundation executive: Tammy Thompson, president and founder, Institute for Patient-Centered Design (Atlanta)
  • Construction/building executive: Andrew Quirk, senior vice president and national director, Healthcare Center of Excellence, Skanska USA Building (Nashville)
  • Researcher: Nicholas Watkins, former director of research, HOK (New York)
  • Facility manager: Dennis Monty, director of facilities planning, compliance, and special projects, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Boston)
  • Interior designer: Jean Hansen, senior professional associate and sustainable interiors manager, HDR Architecture (San Francisco)
  • Owner: Gary Kusnierz, vice president, performance excellence, Ministry Health Care (Menasha, Wis.)
  • Educator: Frank Zilm, Chester Dean lecturer on healthcare design, University of Kansas School of Architecture, Design & Planning
  • Rising star (under 40): Natalie Miovski, principal and director of healthcare, EwingCole (Philadelphia)
  • Firm of the year: NBBJ (headquartered in Seattle).